SteriPEN Classic 3 with Pre-Filter

$69.95

5.00 out of 5

The original handheld UV water purifier is now even better!

With one set of four AA alkaline batteries, Classic 3 purifies up to 50 liters or supercharge your Classic 3 with lithium batteries and treat up to 150 liters. With a lamp life of up to 8,000 liters, you’ll be drinking safe water for over 7 years!

Free Shipping On Orders Over $20!

Description

Trusted on mountains and trails for over 15 years, SteriPEN® Classic is the best-selling portable UV purifier of all time. Since 1999, hundreds of thousands of people have ensured their drinking water is safe and avoided ruined adventures with SteriPEN® Classic.

When camping, hiking, backpacking or traveling the Classic 3 with Pre-Filter is the perfect pack to keep you safely hydrated. Classic 3’s UV light destroys over 99.9% of waterborne microorganisms that cause illness.

With SteriPEN Classic 3, one set of four alkaline batteries will treat 100 half-liters or 50 full liters of water. Or supercharge your SteriPEN with a set of lithium batteries and you’ll treat up to 150 liters! Classic 3’s enhanced LED indicator panel lets you know treatment size and status of batteries and UV lamp. Classic 3 is sleek and ergonomic with an easy-to-remove twist-off lamp cover. Like all SteriPEN UV water purifiers, Classic 3 is simple to use: remove the lamp cover, press the activation button, submerge in water and stir. In 48 seconds you have ½ liter of safe drinking water or purify a full liter in 90 seconds. Compared to standard chemical treatments that can take up to four hours, that’s safe water fast without adding chemicals that can leave an unpleasant aftertaste.

The 40×40 micron screen Pre-Filter fits perfectly on wide-mouth one liter water bottles and removes particulates that can get in the way of UV light in water. The Pre-Filter is designed to be stored directly on a wide mouth bottle and the SteriPEN Classic 3 fits perfectly in the filter. Just insert Classic 3 in the filter opening, turn the bottle upside down, and gently rock to circulate light throughout bottle. The tapered end also fits snugly in plastic water bottles. Just insert the lamp into the water bottle, turn it upside down and gently rock the bottle.

  • Ergonomic design with a new easy-to-remove twist-off cap.
  • The first SteriPEN to work effectively with alkaline batteries. Can be powered by alkaline, lithium, or NiMH batteries.
  • Enhanced LEDs indicate treatment size and status of batteries and lamp.
  • Watertight. No more worries about dropping your Classic 3 in a bottle or stream.
  • So easy … just activate, place in water, and stir. LED indicators flash to let you know when water is safe to drink.

This product includes the SteriPEN Premium Lamp Life Pledge. After purchase from an authorized reseller, register your SteriPEN at SteriPEN.com/register. Reach the lamp life limit (8,000 treatments) and we’ll replace it with a new SteriPEN! For details visit SteriPEN.com/Pledge.


Contents: SteriPEN Classic 3, carrying case, Pre-Filter, and user’s guide. Three year limited warranty.

Additional Information

Weight 2.9 oz   (82 g)
Dimensions 7.3 x 1.7 x 1.7 in  (186 x 43 x 43mm)
Lamp Life 8,000 activations
Battery 4 AA batteries – Alkaline, Lithium or Rechargeable NiMH (Not included with purchase)
Battery Life Alkaline: 100 treatments (16oz./0.5L) or 50 treatments (32oz./1L), Lithium Disposable: 300 treatments (16oz./0.5L) or 150 treatments (32oz./1L), NiMH: 200 treatments (16oz./0.5L) or 100 treatments (32oz./1L).
Minimium Bottle Diameter 22mm (0.8 inches)
Filter Compatability SteriPEN Pre-Filter Included
User Guide en | fr | es | de

Reviews (4)

Reviews


  1. :

    Dear Steripen
    My wife Sally and I leave for India in one month embarking on a fairly intense holiday. We are both heavy water drinkers and wish to take the maximum of precautions on this holiday. Steripen looks to be the answer.
    Roman & Sally Kuroczycki

  2. :

    We recently took our Steripen on a trip to Colombia and used it every day to purify tap water from our hotel rooms so that we didn’t have to buy bottled water and contribute to the local landfills. At the end of the trip we did a 3-day trek in the Los Nevados National Park. Our guide told us that most of his clients refuse to drink the water from the rivers even if he purified it with iodine tabs. This posed a problem for him as the park is at a high elevation and his clients needed to drink plenty of fluids to avoid altitude sickness. So we decided to give him our Steripen so that he could use it for his clients and keep them healthy and happy. A happy parting with our Steripen, but we’ll miss it!

  3. :

    This SteriPen works great! The pen is efficient and I’ve used it on several backpacking trips. Its fast and easy, and I like the pre-filter that stops debris from entering the bottle. This is my main water filter when I backpack and camp. My only complaints are (and these are small. I would definitely buy this product again and recommend it to everyone) that (1) unlike the earlier versions of steripens, cleaning 1 L of water requires two clicks of the on button. The older versions required one click for 1 L and two clicks for 1/2 L. It seems to me like the safest thing is to have the 1 L be the first click, just in case someone forgets to click a second time. And 2) the pre-filter air nozzle that screws onto the cap is awkward and the threads are a bit weak. It often takes me several tries to attach the nozzle correctly. All in all, this is a great product and I plan to use it on all my up-coming trips.

  4. :

    Haven’t used it a whole bunch yet but the little bit that I have, it’s been amazing. It came highly suggested by some other avid hikers from my area. I love the outdoors and it’s great to have such a great system to use to keep us hydrated.

Add a review

Sorry, we need to ensure you are a person to minimize spam * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.


  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 2.3.0.1
  • CLOUD, method:getContent, 109.74ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
  • bvseo-msg: HTTP status code of 404 was returned;

Hi, I was wondering if the steripen can be used with any kind of water bottle (plastic, glass, stainless steel)? Thanks!

Asked by: JanieB
Sure - SteriPEN can be used in any type of container holding a liter of water or less. Thanks for asking!
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2017-03-22

How can I tell if the Steripen actually worked before I drink the water. If the Steripen malfunctioned and told me the water was purified when it actually wasn't - how could I tell? Is there a water test kit or something?

Asked by: tree22
SteriPEN is certified effective by the Water Quality Association and through testing at independent laboratories. Unfortunately, there isn't a quick test to verify the effectiveness when you're out it the field. You can review the results of indepent tests here: www.steripen.com/micro-biological-testing. Our support team will be happy to answer questions as well if you call 888-826-6234.
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2017-03-22

Heeg, Netherlands. Hi there, Has Steripen a UV system for use just at home for two adults and two cats in case of hostile attacks on the watersystem? What do you recommend. Best regards

Asked by: Raymond
Raymond, You can treat a liter of water in 90 seconds, so SteriPEN could be used to provide the volume of water your household requires. Please be aware that SteriPEN is effective against microorganisms in the water - viruses, bacteria and protozoa. It is does not remove chemicals from water.
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2015-11-22

I noticed the SteriPEN Classic 3 with Pre-Filter stated to pre filter the water if necessary. Doe the kit come with the 1 liter bottle as shown on the video. Thanks

Asked by: Frank
Frank, no, the bottled is not included with the SteriPEN Classic 3. The Pre-Filter fits most Nalgene style bottles.
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2015-09-22

It looks like the pre-filter is designed to seal BOTH the inner AND outer flange on Nalgene bottles, however each of my 5 bottles have a different dimension between the two flanges so one of the 2seals lets water in & the threads are contaminated. ideas?

Asked by: larrybe
While the Pre-Filter is made to fit snugly on Nalgene style one-liter water bottles, it is not a perfect fit with every bottle out there. Our recommendation is that you wipe them dry after use.
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2015-09-17

I'm not quite clear about the batteries involved. Are these the cylindrical batteries, similar in shape to the AA or AAA, or the button cell type? Worth knowing since there's quite a difference in price. Many thanks. 

Asked by: JackP
The SteriPEN Classic 3 and SteriPEN Aqua take four AA batteries. SteriPEN Adventurer Opti uses two CR-123 batteries which are slightly shorter and wider than AA batteries.
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2015-09-17

I am looking at buying a steripen, haven't decided on the model yet. I assume there is a max water temperature limit that the steripen can be used in to prevent the glass from braking, and does it vary between the models.

Asked by: Nijaz
The lamps on all SteriPEN models have the same requirements and should not be exposed to temperatures above 120°F/49°C or below -4°F/-20°C.
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2015-09-11

Will the classic 3 with pre-filter fit the stainless inside threaded bottles?

Asked by: Tross
No, it will only work on bottles with threads on the outside.
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2015-09-10

Is it purified when light flashes red?

Asked by: bachman007
When the water is purified you will see the LED flash green. If you are seeing a red light flashing, that indicates the pen was removed from the water too soon. You can see a complete list of the indicator signals in the User Guide, which can be found at www.steripen.com/userguide. If you have further questions, please feel free to contact our support department at 888-826-6234.
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2015-08-31

How long does it take to treat a liter of water with the Steripen? 

Asked by: jared
You can treat a liter of water in 90 seconds, or a half liter in 48 seconds.
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2015-08-20

The Steripen works with Lithium AA batteries. I am guessing that means it will work with the 14500 Lithium Ion batteries that put out 3.7V per battery. If the pen takes 4 batteries, that means that it should handle 16.8V total. Is this correct?

Asked by: JoNat
A lithium AA battery puts out 1.5 volts and a 14500 lithium ion puts out 3.7 volts per battery. Even though the 14500 would physically fit in the SteriPEN this would be too much voltage and would damage the pen.
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2015-09-29

So what exactly is in the box? : Pen, carrying bag, Prefilter adapter, instructions, air..............are the air vent and filter cartridge included.

Asked by: srp 64
Yes, SteriPEN Classic 3 includes the SteriPEN, a carry case, the SteriPEN Pre-Filter with filter air vent/filter cartridge, and instructions.
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2015-09-29

What are the specs of this device, i.e. UV wavelength and fluence?

Asked by: Patrick
The SteriPEN UV wavelength is 254nm. The fluence varies, however it exceeds 40mJ/cm^2 @ 48s. If you have further questions about the specs, please feel free to contact our technical support department at support@steripen.com or 888-826-6234.
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2015-07-30

I used my SteriPEN with Alkaline batteries and it did not reach the 25 cycles for 1 ltrs on the trail. I replaced the batteries with NMH batteries. When I got home, I tested the Alkaline and they tested in the mid-good range. What gives?

Asked by: Allan
If you have a SteriPEN Classic 3, you should be able to treat around 50 liters using a new set of high quality alkaline batteries. Older model SteriPENs didn't operate well with alkaline batteries, so first, please make sure your SteriPEN is a Classic 3. The battery brand can affect performance. We recommend using a name brand battery and replacing all four batteries at the same time. If you continue to experience poor battery performance, please contact our support department at support@steripen.com or 888-826-6234. Thanks for choosing SteriPEN!
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2015-07-29

Hi, I have an older Steripen Classic and was wondering where to purchase a replacement uv tube and how to change it.  I do not see any replacement tubes on your website under accessories.  Seek your help on this issue. Look forward to your reply.

Asked by: Sundram
Hello! A SteriPEN technician can replace the UV lamp for you. They will also reset the number of uses, so you'll get another 8,000 treatments using the new lamp. Please contact our support department at support@steripen.com or you can call 1-888-826-6234 (US Only) or +1 (207) 374-4506 (outside the US). They'll be able to tell you the procedure for returning your SteriPEN Classic for a lamp replacement.
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2015-07-25

Does your product use UV lamps or LED?

Asked by: joetomgo
Hi joetomgo! SteriPEN models are currently made with UV lamps.
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2015-07-24

I have a SteriPen like the Classic, it's started acting erratically. When activated it will sometimes operate correctly; green then the blinking green. An equal amount of times it goes green to red and won't operate. It's ~5yrs old but used on ~6-7 trips.

Asked by: Dennis

Will this do seawater? saltwater? 

Asked by: Mike

Does this have any effect on parasites in the water?

Asked by: Cautious traveler

I havent used my pen for awhile and have just got it out. Ive put new batteries in but when i press the button the green light turns to red and the light doesnt come on. Should i try other batterie or could it be something else.

Asked by: Freia

If you are filling multiple bottles of water with sediment in the water, does the pre-filter have to be cleaned after each filled bottle? How would you clean this filter? Dave

Asked by: Davey

Where can I get the definition of the error codes. I took the paper that had the error codes with me camping and it got wet destroyed. Is there a copy online?

Asked by: Harry

how many lithium batteries do I need and what type?

Asked by: tapaboop

every time I try to use it, the light blinks once and then the red light comes on right after...is it because the water is clean or because the product is defective?!

Asked by: JenD

Can I use the Steripen to filter tea if I am in a restaurant and not sure about the water purity?

Asked by: Lucinda

Last year we bought steepen classic 3. This year we put in the batteries it worked but we have a hard time turning it off. Can you help?

Asked by: cindy22

You're video shows full submersion of the water bottle which will contaminate the entire exterior of the bottle, filter, spout & probably bottle threads.   How does one decontaminate the bottle opening so one can drink directly from it?

Asked by: Truthbetold
  • y_2017, m_3, d_27, h_1CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_35
  • loc_en_US, sid_classic3, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_steripen
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 2.3.0.1
  • CLOUD, method:getContent, 51.71ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Hi, I was wondering if the steripen can be used with any kind of water bottle (plastic, glass, stainless steel)? Thanks!

Asked by: JanieB
Sure - SteriPEN can be used in any type of container holding a liter of water or less. Thanks for asking!
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2017-03-22

How can I tell if the Steripen actually worked before I drink the water. If the Steripen malfunctioned and told me the water was purified when it actually wasn't - how could I tell? Is there a water test kit or something?

Asked by: tree22
SteriPEN is certified effective by the Water Quality Association and through testing at independent laboratories. Unfortunately, there isn't a quick test to verify the effectiveness when you're out it the field. You can review the results of indepent tests here: www.steripen.com/micro-biological-testing. Our support team will be happy to answer questions as well if you call 888-826-6234.
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2017-03-22

Heeg, Netherlands. Hi there, Has Steripen a UV system for use just at home for two adults and two cats in case of hostile attacks on the watersystem? What do you recommend. Best regards

Asked by: Raymond
Raymond, You can treat a liter of water in 90 seconds, so SteriPEN could be used to provide the volume of water your household requires. Please be aware that SteriPEN is effective against microorganisms in the water - viruses, bacteria and protozoa. It is does not remove chemicals from water.
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2015-11-22

I noticed the SteriPEN Classic 3 with Pre-Filter stated to pre filter the water if necessary. Doe the kit come with the 1 liter bottle as shown on the video. Thanks

Asked by: Frank
Frank, no, the bottled is not included with the SteriPEN Classic 3. The Pre-Filter fits most Nalgene style bottles.
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2015-09-22

It looks like the pre-filter is designed to seal BOTH the inner AND outer flange on Nalgene bottles, however each of my 5 bottles have a different dimension between the two flanges so one of the 2seals lets water in & the threads are contaminated. ideas?

Asked by: larrybe
While the Pre-Filter is made to fit snugly on Nalgene style one-liter water bottles, it is not a perfect fit with every bottle out there. Our recommendation is that you wipe them dry after use.
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2015-09-17

I'm not quite clear about the batteries involved. Are these the cylindrical batteries, similar in shape to the AA or AAA, or the button cell type? Worth knowing since there's quite a difference in price. Many thanks. 

Asked by: JackP
The SteriPEN Classic 3 and SteriPEN Aqua take four AA batteries. SteriPEN Adventurer Opti uses two CR-123 batteries which are slightly shorter and wider than AA batteries.
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2015-09-17

I am looking at buying a steripen, haven't decided on the model yet. I assume there is a max water temperature limit that the steripen can be used in to prevent the glass from braking, and does it vary between the models.

Asked by: Nijaz
The lamps on all SteriPEN models have the same requirements and should not be exposed to temperatures above 120°F/49°C or below -4°F/-20°C.
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2015-09-11

Will the classic 3 with pre-filter fit the stainless inside threaded bottles?

Asked by: Tross
No, it will only work on bottles with threads on the outside.
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2015-09-10

Is it purified when light flashes red?

Asked by: bachman007
When the water is purified you will see the LED flash green. If you are seeing a red light flashing, that indicates the pen was removed from the water too soon. You can see a complete list of the indicator signals in the User Guide, which can be found at www.steripen.com/userguide. If you have further questions, please feel free to contact our support department at 888-826-6234.
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2015-08-31

How long does it take to treat a liter of water with the Steripen? 

Asked by: jared
You can treat a liter of water in 90 seconds, or a half liter in 48 seconds.
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2015-08-20

The Steripen works with Lithium AA batteries. I am guessing that means it will work with the 14500 Lithium Ion batteries that put out 3.7V per battery. If the pen takes 4 batteries, that means that it should handle 16.8V total. Is this correct?

Asked by: JoNat
A lithium AA battery puts out 1.5 volts and a 14500 lithium ion puts out 3.7 volts per battery. Even though the 14500 would physically fit in the SteriPEN this would be too much voltage and would damage the pen.
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2015-09-29

So what exactly is in the box? : Pen, carrying bag, Prefilter adapter, instructions, air..............are the air vent and filter cartridge included.

Asked by: srp 64
Yes, SteriPEN Classic 3 includes the SteriPEN, a carry case, the SteriPEN Pre-Filter with filter air vent/filter cartridge, and instructions.
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2015-09-29

What are the specs of this device, i.e. UV wavelength and fluence?

Asked by: Patrick
The SteriPEN UV wavelength is 254nm. The fluence varies, however it exceeds 40mJ/cm^2 @ 48s. If you have further questions about the specs, please feel free to contact our technical support department at support@steripen.com or 888-826-6234.
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2015-07-30

I used my SteriPEN with Alkaline batteries and it did not reach the 25 cycles for 1 ltrs on the trail. I replaced the batteries with NMH batteries. When I got home, I tested the Alkaline and they tested in the mid-good range. What gives?

Asked by: Allan
If you have a SteriPEN Classic 3, you should be able to treat around 50 liters using a new set of high quality alkaline batteries. Older model SteriPENs didn't operate well with alkaline batteries, so first, please make sure your SteriPEN is a Classic 3. The battery brand can affect performance. We recommend using a name brand battery and replacing all four batteries at the same time. If you continue to experience poor battery performance, please contact our support department at support@steripen.com or 888-826-6234. Thanks for choosing SteriPEN!
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2015-07-29

Hi, I have an older Steripen Classic and was wondering where to purchase a replacement uv tube and how to change it.  I do not see any replacement tubes on your website under accessories.  Seek your help on this issue. Look forward to your reply.

Asked by: Sundram
Hello! A SteriPEN technician can replace the UV lamp for you. They will also reset the number of uses, so you'll get another 8,000 treatments using the new lamp. Please contact our support department at support@steripen.com or you can call 1-888-826-6234 (US Only) or +1 (207) 374-4506 (outside the US). They'll be able to tell you the procedure for returning your SteriPEN Classic for a lamp replacement.
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2015-07-25

Does your product use UV lamps or LED?

Asked by: joetomgo
Hi joetomgo! SteriPEN models are currently made with UV lamps.
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2015-07-24

I have a SteriPen like the Classic, it's started acting erratically. When activated it will sometimes operate correctly; green then the blinking green. An equal amount of times it goes green to red and won't operate. It's ~5yrs old but used on ~6-7 trips.

Asked by: Dennis

Will this do seawater? saltwater? 

Asked by: Mike

Does this have any effect on parasites in the water?

Asked by: Cautious traveler

I havent used my pen for awhile and have just got it out. Ive put new batteries in but when i press the button the green light turns to red and the light doesnt come on. Should i try other batterie or could it be something else.

Asked by: Freia

If you are filling multiple bottles of water with sediment in the water, does the pre-filter have to be cleaned after each filled bottle? How would you clean this filter? Dave

Asked by: Davey

Where can I get the definition of the error codes. I took the paper that had the error codes with me camping and it got wet destroyed. Is there a copy online?

Asked by: Harry

how many lithium batteries do I need and what type?

Asked by: tapaboop

every time I try to use it, the light blinks once and then the red light comes on right after...is it because the water is clean or because the product is defective?!

Asked by: JenD

Can I use the Steripen to filter tea if I am in a restaurant and not sure about the water purity?

Asked by: Lucinda

Last year we bought steepen classic 3. This year we put in the batteries it worked but we have a hard time turning it off. Can you help?

Asked by: cindy22

You're video shows full submersion of the water bottle which will contaminate the entire exterior of the bottle, filter, spout & probably bottle threads.   How does one decontaminate the bottle opening so one can drink directly from it?

Asked by: Truthbetold
  • y_2017, m_3, d_27, h_1CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_35
  • loc_en_US, sid_classic3, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_steripen
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 2.3.0.1
  • CLOUD, method:getContent, 48.81ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT