SteriPEN Ultra

$99.95

5.00 out of 5

Featuring a user-friendly display Ultra is rechargeable via a computer, outlet or portable solar panel. Ultra’s UV lamp treats up to 8,000 one-liter treatments and is proven to be safe and effective, eliminating over 99.9% of bacteria, viruses and protozoa that cause water-borne illness.

Free Shipping On Orders Over $20!

Out of stock


Description

  • Ultra features an internal battery that’s recharged from any USB power source; connect the included USB cable and start charging from a solar panel, laptop or car power port
  • Low-power indicator lets you know when battery needs recharging; when fully charged you can treat 50L
  • Ultraviolet (UV-C) light rays safely purify clear water by destroying 99.99% of protozoa (including Giardia and Cryptosporidia), bacteria and even viruses
  • SteriPEN protects you from risks that cause botulism, cholera, dysentery and typhoid, just to name a few
  • To purify your water, just press a button and gently agitate the water with a quick stir
  • Purifies 16 fl.oz. of water (cold or warm) in less than a minute or treat 32 fl. oz. in 90 seconds
  • Ultra is designed to fit perfectly into store-bought bottles of water; just insert the Ultra into the bottle, flip the bottle upside down and start treating the water
  • Small size fits most containers—use it in cups, mugs, water bottles and canteens
  • SteriPEN turns itself off once ultraviolet treatment is complete; can be used up to 8,000 times!
  • Watertight seals keep water away from the electronics; rubberized inset grips for secure handling in wet conditions
  • Long used by municipal water districts and bottling companies, low-level UV-C light treats water safely, and unit’s light will not damage eyes or skin
  • Use only on clear water, as cloudy, sediment-laden water hinders effectiveness; FitsAll prefilter (sold separately) clears particulates and debris from water
  • Includes SteriPEN Ultra water purifier, USB cable, carrying case and instruction manuals
  • SteriPEN Premium Lamp Life Pledge lets you register your purchase to receive a replacement SteriPEN after 8,000 uses; find details at steripen.com/pledge
Additional Information
Weight 4.96 oz
Dimensions 7.3 x 1.65 x 1.3 in
Lamp Life 8,000 treatments
Battery Internal Lithium-Ion (Included with purchase)
Battery Life Full charge treats up to 50 Liters: 50 1L, or 100 0.5L, treatments
Minimium Bottle Diameter 20mm (.8 inches)
Filter Compatability Tapered End (FitsAll or Pre-Filter)
User Guide en | fr | es | de
FAQs SteriPEN FAQs

Reviews (4)

Reviews


  1. :

    My review is I love it Light weight is great kills all the bad things that ill you a little pricey but you get what you pay for. Thank steripen you are thinking of us hikers for sure.

  2. SteriPEN Marketing Team

    (verified owner):

  3. :

    SteriPen is a great company! I purchased my Ultra at a retail store “garage sale” (condition: like new) but when I brought it home to test, the Ultra indicated the lamp was out. I contacted SteriPen who quickly suggested I send it in to them for service. Just got it back this morning and I’m all set to go! All of the service technicians were very helpful and prompt when emailing back and forth. And they charged no service fee!! All I had to do was cover my return shipping.
    Thank you for a great product and great service!

  4. :

    The SteriPEN is an absolutely essential travel tool, especially in developing countries where sometimes even the bottled water can’t be trusted. My husband and I have been traveling around SE Asia for over 8 months, we use our SteriPEN every single day. It’s easily one of the most important tools in our bag. You can read our full review on our blog here: http://wanderrlust.com/2014/08/05/the-most-useful-travel-tool-ever/ . I will never travel or hike without a SteriPEN again.

Add a review

Sorry, we need to ensure you are a person to minimize spam * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.


SteriPEN Ultra is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 71.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Super fragile and/or unreliable First day it didn't worked. Said the bulb was broken. After connecting it to the charger it worked again (While it was already fully charged). But now 2 days later it looks dead again. Very fragile and unreliable equipment. Was expecting it to work as a charm but till now very disappointed. Currently in Tanzania for 3 months but it looks that is going to be without a working Steripen... When I'm back, I'll send it back for guarantee. :'(
Date published: 2015-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME! I work in Iraq and our water source is from surface water and even though it gets purified its contaminated with Protozoa. Chlorine does not kill them and once infected with these parasites they are difficult for Doctors to detect and painful. The SteriPen has completely eliminated that problem for me! This item is rugged, quick and most of all effective. Being that its light and rechargeable makes it the perfect traveling water purification tool on the market. This little device has surly saved me quite a few times. As long as the water is clear you can disinfect it, nothing escapes the UV light.
Date published: 2017-03-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Confidence in the outback Having used a Steripen classic for the last two years, I have upgraded to the Ultra just in time for my month long backpacking photographic adventure in Australia’s outback. Before I started the hike across North Queensland, I was strongly advised to carry as much water as I could manage, and then add some more for insurance (4 liters minimum with no mid-day hiking and 8 liters as a better option) as the water from some of the isolated and distant `waterholes`` was not safe to drink straight from the source, reported after several people had to be airlifted from one particular water hole to obtain medical assistance after drinking the water. After 5 days and a hundred miles I reached the first main water hole having refilled my bottles from the four places I had pre-planned with my wife who was driving there. But for the next few days however I was on my own as the terrain was not suitable for any kind of traffic .The temperature was 105F and I was almost out of my own water. I had so much confidence with using my `old classic` but an untried Ultra on suspect water, not so much. With little choice, I filled one of my three liter bottles and submerged the powered up Steripen Ultra bulb and stirred for 90 seconds and then for another 60 seconds even though the smiley face was informing me that all was good. As far as I could tell, I had another 76 miles before reaching the next water supply, plus I had not seen another soul during the past 3 days other than three welcome sights of my wife with the water, and it was then that I had passed a young couple going the other way and they had told me that although they had filtered the water (it was not a Steripen brand) out of the same water hole I was heading for, they both had `bellyache` for the next 24 hours. Better safe than sorry…right? Okay, to cut a potential long review short, I suffered no ill effects whatsoever and by the time I reached my destination of Tomahawk Creek (a part of the Queensland Sapphire mining fields) I was down to 90 seconds stirring per liter and was absolutely sure that my water was going to clear and safe to drink. So I made the 500+ miles across the hot and barren outback without the burden of having to carry more than the minimum requirement 4 liters per day plus 1 extra for emergencies. I did only hike as soon as the Sun rose for 4 hours, and then from 3pm until it dusk, thus the 4 liters was good for me. I was using a relative cheap solar charger on my trip and although I was confident enough that one full charge would last long enough for at least 10 liter bottles, I made sure and fixed the Ultra on my backpack along with the solar charger. Since I have returned back to the States, I have checked out the battery limit on the Ultra and on a full solar charge, and I used it on a liter of water every day and it lasted until the end of the 14th liter (day 14) This Ultra pen is light, easy to use and spot on with its time of the stirring. I did have a bandana that I used to filter out any `bits` before using the pen which was critical for the ultra violet light to effectively work to its full potential. With a 3 year guarantee on the pen makes for a very good buy.
Date published: 2015-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5, 000 PCT miles and nothing but fresh water Okay, way back in 2011 I was using chemical tablets for my water purification on the PCT. Ever have morning coffee that tasted like iodine? There is even a song left over from WWII on the subject. I ran out of tablets in the Sierras and ended up in the Lone Pine ED with clinical giardia. After a full night in the ED I hitched up to Bishop to resupply. At the outfitter I ran across the Steripen. Never again did I have iodine for breakfast! 5,000 miles of trouble free hiking and going stong.
Date published: 2015-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for cycling in Samoa! We've just spent two weeks cycling in Samoa. On average, a bottle of 1.5l water will cost you NZD 2. It's so hot, that you'll want to drink a lot. We would have had to buy at least 3 bottles per day, which would have come to NZD 90. This means we've already reimbursed two thirds of the cost of our SteriPEN, which we will definitely use for all our future trips overseas! It has also meant that we didn't discard a total of 45 plastic bottles in Samoa - which probably doesn't have a recycling scheme! Just do it, buy a SteriPEN, save your guts and save the planet :)
Date published: 2016-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best water purifiers on the market! I never leave home without the SteriPen! It's a product that is convenient, small, and incredibly practical and useful. When I'm hiking or traveling in remote locations, it's a game changer to not have to worry about lugging gallons and gallons of water, when you can literally fit the SteriPen in your pocket. Highly recommend for backpackers, hikers, and travelers!
Date published: 2015-07-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect for backcountry adventures I've used my new SteriPen on a canoe trip in Minnesota and a backpacking trip in Colorado. In both cases it provided that extra layer of security that made me comfortable drinking/using the water that found along the way, rather than carrying everything in. I was the go-to person in the group for purifying everyone's water. USB-recharge means I can use solar to easily keep things going along the way, although the battery seems to last for a LONG time, so running out of power wasn't really a problem anyway.
Date published: 2016-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light weight insurance I love how compact the steripen ultra is. That combined with the fact that it kills the stuff that can make people super sick is why I love this steripen. Also I backpack in fall in Colorado, the nights are cold enough to freeze my gravity fed filter, not a concern with the steripen. I would recommend some kind of pre filter to use with this unit. I got a steripen pre filter, haven't tried it yet though. Overall I would highly recommend the steripen ultra. It's reliable, lightweight, compact, and fast.
Date published: 2016-01-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disgusting Quality Our Steripen has never been used and always stored in the case. Even though it is only less than 3 years old the handle/grip has become very sticky and disgusting to use.
Date published: 2016-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I never leave home with it I had two other steripens that were smaller more delicate versions, and both of them broke after not too long. I sent them back and the company replaced them. On the second attempt they replaced it with this one, and it has been going strong now for years. I work in development, so I spend years in India, Africa, and this year, South America, and I have bad guts (side effect of job) so clean water is mandatory. My pen is literally the second thing I pack after my passport. It can even run off my solar panel. It's also really good for developing country environments, since it means I can drink out of the tap and not fill the country up with mostly un-recyclable plastic bottles. I think that the number of people that I have converted to this type of water cleaning is almost worthy of a commission, but it's great to have a product that works!
Date published: 2016-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent for long trips Bought the Steripen Ultra for my trip to India. First time haven't been sick shortly after arriving! I really recommend the Ultra version. Was skeptical at first, but it lasts sooooo long on a single charge, and it's so easily charged as well. Must have cleaned 50 litres of water before needing a charge. Much better than going the battery route and having way less litres and carrying batteries. Good luck and enjoy the world!!!
Date published: 2017-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lifesaver! We have been travelling across the South Pacific and South America and the SteriPEN has been a godsend. We've been able to keep costs down by drinking tap water (even yellow-brown water in Colombia!) and not once have we got sick. The pen is chargeable by USB which is great because we don't need to carry around a charger. In the long run, it's earned its cost back and far far more. Highly recommended! - Kia, Atlas & Boots
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life Saving Tool Everyone On The Planet Must Have! I am in Peru traveling. Peruvian water is very dirty, toxic. My friend who travels the world uses the SteriPEN Ultra, and said I MUST have this to stay healthy. I asked my climbing friends what they use when they travel and climb. They all said, The SteriPEN!!!! So....I purchased the SteriPEN Ultra from Amazon. It has saved my kids and my life here!! All the water is in toxic, plastic bottles. People boil their tap water, but that is not enough. I clean liters of water 3 times daily with SteriPEN Ultra. The water gets so clean and sweet! No toxic plastic bottles. It's so eco, and fascinates everyone who watches me use it!! I've recommended to several travelers to buy it. They have. Everyone on the planet must have this instrument. Thank you SteriPEN, for creating this amazing, life saving instrument. We are immensely grateful. Peace, Light & Love...Sonya Wilder
Date published: 2016-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I used it on Annapurna Circuit trek. It saved us (my wife and me) some money. It saved the environment from a few more PET bottles. (There are also some safe water stations that sell purified water without bottles). It made us more flexible, we could "make water" and drink any time we wanted (which is good e.g. in a hotel in Kathmandu). We did not get sick. The battery had enough capacity for the whole trek and more.
Date published: 2016-11-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good, but not always dependable My SteriPen Ultra is just ok. When it works, it's great. But there were times on a recent trip where with a few seconds left, I got the unhappy face. Not sure why. I usually redo it, and then it works. Maybe it's just my SteriPen?? I think it's a great product, just slightly annoying when it fails on the first try for no apparent reason. It's still better sterilize twice than deal with sketchy water.
Date published: 2016-08-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from My SteripenUltra doesn´t like cold conditions...:( I was so looking forward to my SteripenUltra. It does work, but only in warm weather conditions..as soon as it stays in cold place or it has to treat cold water it is out of the battery. Also the top of the light bulb is foggy (maybe that´s the reason). Now I don´t know if I can count with it on long treks in high mountains, where it gets cold over nights. Anybody has the same problems with it?
Date published: 2017-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from INCREDIBLE PRODUCT If ultraviolet light is good enough for my salt water fish tank.....killing viruses it is good enough for me......I understand the technology.....it works ...period I love ...Steripen ultra !!! ..and a rechargeable battery... what is there not to love about it ?......buy one now.....save your life I am a pilot......you never know the water you are drinking......anyway....I love it
Date published: 2016-09-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very unreliable / Quality issues? I got this device after reading "Trail Tested" by Justin Lichter (falcon guides) and despite the reservations of Andrew Skukra in his "the ultimate hiker's gearguide" (national geographic). In theory, it is a great device and in comparison to filter systems reasonably light weight. In pracitce, it lets me down regularly after treating two to four liters. Even though I learned to clean/dry the water sensors and surroundings CAREFULLY, carrying an extra cotton hankie to do a really good job on that, the SteriPen quits service and announces a dead lamp after two to four liters. It will require 5 to ten days of rest (having the moisture that migrated into the circuitry to dry out?), before it will be serviceable again. On our recent trip to yosemite, it let me down on the second day. For the following trip to the Whitney region, I deciced not to carry this piece of expensive junk with me any longer. I suppose there is a manufacturing problem. China is not renowned for quality manufacturing, rather mass production. And there we are; migrating moisture can only be avoided by strict and very quality oriented manufacturing processes. I will take my SteriPEN back to the shop for replacement and give it a second try. If it will be able to do some 20liters in a row without malfunction, I am going to take it along again, but never without a good back-up system.
Date published: 2015-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! hope they update the button took this on a 4 day backpacking trip and it worked as advertised! Very convenient, lightweight and small so it doesn't take up room in your pack. Impressed with the charge it held as we ended up using it for my whole group on the trip. The only change I hope they make is moving the button to the top of the unit, this would make it easier to use on a variety of containers
Date published: 2015-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tool - Great service Not only is the SteriPen a great way to have safe water, but the customer service is fabulous! When I got mine, I had a strange issue and contacted the company for help. They had me send the SteriPen to them so they could check it out. Within a few days I had an email letting me know that they were going to completely replace it with a new SteriPen!! Great experience.
Date published: 2015-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life saver, game changer! I never leave home without the SteriPen! It's a product that is convenient, small, and incredibly practical and useful. When I'm hiking or traveling in remote locations, it's a game changer to not have to worry about lugging gallons and gallons of water, when you can literally fit the SteriPen in your pocket. Highly recommend for backpackers, hikers, and travelers!
Date published: 2015-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very functional improvement for backpacking use I've had a steripen classic for many years. The only "glitch" I've ever had with it was when batteries died in field. The Ultra, with it's USB rechargeable battery takes away this issue. (I'm already carrying a solar charger for other devices) It is somewhat lighter than the classic, and the electronic screen/interface is a great improvement as well. It is very clear what is going on, and what the status is. All water treatment systems have some drawbacks. Filters plug, you can run out of fuel for boiling, chemical treatments take time & add taste. Electronic devices can fail, but I really like the odds with my new Steripen Ultra. It was used for the first time on a 4 day backpack in the Sierras. I likely treated 15 to 20 liters over the trip, and still showing 3/4 charge. My only advice: Make sure you practice at home, so you know how it works, and what the trouble codes are if something goes wrong.
Date published: 2016-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The water treatment product ive waited for Does exactly as advertised. Holds a charge great, easy to read LCD screen. Its perfect for the backcountry, and seriously cuts down on weight. It does nothing to affect the taste of the water, but I have not had any ill-effects from use. After going through pumps, straws, and chemicals, Ive finally found the treatment that fits my wants and needs
Date published: 2015-08-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Essential for travelers Bought for a trip to South Africa, where I would be both in cities and smaller areas around Kruger. Used on every liter of water in my Nalgene and Vapor bottles and had no issues anywhere. I note that my unit sometimes fails to "strike" the lamp but that removing from the water, shaking, and trying again seems to work. Unsure if this is common.
Date published: 2017-01-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great tasting water fast. I have just 1 wish I bought my SteriPen after back packing with a friend who had one. I was using iodine tablets and felt thirsty all the time. The SteriPen quickly produces water that tastes good and satisfies thurst. I just wish it would tell me the status of my batteries so I wouldn't feel compelled to carry spares when there is no risk of them dying.
Date published: 2015-08-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Amazing little machine Travelling in india, i now don't have to leave a mountain of plastic bottles every time i change hotel rooms, My one complaint is sometimes, infact fairly often it takes a few tries to work, sometimes quite a few, is this to do with the temperature being to warm or cold? But it always, so far, comes up with the goods
Date published: 2017-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Used on a 4 day canoe trip. My older daughter and I used the SteriPEN on a four day canoe trip in Maine. We just dipped our bottles in the lake while paddling and in a minute or so we had our day's worth of drinking water. It's reliable, easy to use, and the water tasted great. I just bought a second one for my younger daughter.
Date published: 2016-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great addition to my traveling I just received this as a replacement to a earlier model that developed a defect. The customer service was awesome to work with and I am quite pleased with the new model of my SteriPEN. I have used this on several trips and not had any water related issues. I highly recommend it and the company.
Date published: 2016-06-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ideal for Bicycle Touring with a Dynamo Hub Bought via another Cycle Tourer recommendation & love its speed, compact, lightweight & simple to use features. Just finished a bike tour with it & it worked like a dream. I also bought the added filter for use with water that has debri in it, but didn't need it on this trip. Highly recommended...
Date published: 2016-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for countries with dodgy water I live in Peru, and although the water out of my taps are filtered, I don't totally trust it. People get parasites here all the time from dodgy water. Thus, I feel much better using my SteriPEN Ultra. One charge lasts forever, and it's so easy to recharge with the USB connection. It's perfect!
Date published: 2015-08-01
  • y_2017, m_3, d_26, h_13
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_68
  • loc_en_US, sid_ultra, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_steripen
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 2.3.0.1
  • CLOUD, method:getContent, 61.08ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

I need a replacement charger and battery for my steripen

Asked by: DebS
Our technical support team can be reached at (888) 826-6234 in the US, or +1 (207) 374-4506, Monday through Friday from 8:00am to 5:00pm (Eastern) or by email support@steripen.com We are happy to help make things right for you with a few more details regarding what model SteriPEN you have and what may be going on with your charger and battery. We look forward to hearing from you. ~ David
Answered by: David in Tech Support
Date published: 2016-07-07

We were given a Steripen ultra with the recharge cord. I understand it also has a battery. We don't have the instruction book. Do we have to unscrew the top to access the battery?

Asked by: Lara
Here is a link to our web page where you can access a User Guide for any of our models: ww.steripen.com/user-guides/ . The inboard, permanent battery is not intended for owner service and is only meant to be recharged with the USB cord via an AC wall adapter, a computer or a solar panel. The custom designed and built battery is not available commercially and is engineered to last well past the 8,000 treatment expectancy of the pen's UV lamp. Although it can be accessed by unscrewing the top, this is not recommended and, in normal use, will not be necessary. Our technicians on staff in our Maine based workshop can do this when need arises, which only happens very infrequently. ~ David
Answered by: David in Tech Support
Date published: 2017-03-18

i want some videos of how does uv water purifier works

Asked by: sakshi
For videos that demonstrate the operation of our current models, please head to our website's video page: https://www.steripen.com/videos/ If you'd like more information regarding how Ultra Violet works, you can check out quite a few technical reports at this link: https://www.steripen.com/micro-biological-testing/ There are also many videos available on the internet with a simple search engine inquiry. One very simple animation on UV Light's Effect on Bacteria can be found at this link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jbQlcmEW_gs ~ David
Answered by: David in Tech Support
Date published: 2016-03-14

How many uses before it needs recharging?

Asked by: Barney
Hello, and thank you for your question! A new SteriPEN Ultra will last approximately 50 uses per charge. -SteriPEN Marketing
Answered by: SteriPEN Marketing
Date published: 2016-04-26

Can your product be shipped to Canada, your shopping cart doesn't support it? Cheers Dan

Asked by: Vaxi
Hi Dan, Although our own web store does not support purchases going to Canada, there are many fine, authorized dealers up that way, including MEC and Bass Pro Shops. For a more complete list, and specific locations, please check our web page: https://www.steripen.com/locator/ . Cheers to you too, Dan. ~ David
Answered by: David in Tech Support
Date published: 2016-03-12

I use a SteriPen in Guatemala and enjoy it. How effective is this against salmonella? We use a very good in-line filter system and then the SteriPen but have been told recently that the city water has become contaminated. Thank you.

Asked by: Eldon
Salmonella is a bacteria and, along with other potential contaminants, will be rendered incapable of causing waterborne illness. The SteriPEN's UV light destroys over 99.9% of bacteria, viruses, and protozoa like Giardia and Cryptosporidium. SteriPEN is certified effective by the Water Quality Association and has won multiple industry awards. You can see what else SteriPEN UV water purifiers destroy at https://www.steripen.com/glossary/ ~ David
Answered by: David in Tech Support
Date published: 2016-03-12

Can I buy a steripen from you in Australia?  I can't see a buy button on the website.  If not how about when I get to Argentina in two weeks?  Also how long would shipping take?  Thanks!

Asked by: Tomtom
You may absolutely buy a SteriPEN in Australia! If there isn't a purchase link on the specific page there should be a retailer link that says where the model is available. If the product isn't available on our page it may be currently discontinued. Please contact us at marketing@steripen.com, and we can give you more direction. Or visit http://www.Steripen.com/locator for a list of retailers. Thank you, ~SteriPEN Marketing
Answered by: SteriPEN Marketing
Date published: 2016-03-12

What is the mAh rating for the Ultra battery?  I read somewhere on the site that you recommend at least a 4000 mAh battery for a full recharge.  Does that take into account the inefficiency of backup battery recharge? 

Asked by: Len5742
The Ultra's battery is rated at 2200 mAh, and you are correct, the recommendation to have a higher rated source, such as a solar charger's internal battery with a minimum 4,000 mAh internal battery, is due to the inherent inefficiency of that method of recharging. ~ David David Snyder Tech Support With each purchase SteriPEN contributes to water4, empowering local entrepreneurs to bring clean water to their own communities. http://www.water4.org/what-we-do/ Monday - Friday, 8am - 5pm EDT 1-888-826-6234 (US Only) +1 (207) 374-4506
Answered by: David in Tech Support
Date published: 2016-03-12

Can I get replacement cap for the water bottle? (it has a loop handle, blue and black) The original had a rubber ring that has a notch/tear in it and allowed water to leak.

Asked by: ltnew
Hello, and thank you for choosing SteriPEN! We recommend you contact our customer support team at: Technical Support Monday - Friday, 8am - 5pm EDT 1-888-826-6234 (US Only) +1 (207) 374-4506 They will be able to get you a new cap! Thank you, ~SteriPEN Marketing
Answered by: SteriPEN Marketing
Date published: 2016-03-12

can i use my iphone 6 wall plug in to charge the Ultra? Also, is it possible to take the rechargeable battery out and put a lithium one in? Thanks

Asked by: lawson406
Yes, you may use any standard USB to Micro-B port cable. http://support.steripen.com/entries/63606567-USB-Charger Thank you for your interest in SteriPEN!
Answered by: SteriPEN Marketing
Date published: 2016-03-12

Hi! I own the steripen Ultra and over the last couple years have only used it a handful of times.  It hasn't been charged for a couple years.  I tried to do it recently and get a screen display while it's plugged in but nothing whenI unplug it.battery??

Asked by: Nick
Nick - We do recommend charging a stored SteriPEN Ultra every six months. Please contact our support department by emailing support@steripen.com or calling 888-826-6234. A representative will be able to troubleshoot your SteriPEN and provide repair options if required.
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2016-03-12

I'm planning on using the SteriPen Ultra to purify water out of the Colorado River. Is it effective on the brown water that comes out of the river?

Asked by: Jay R
SteriPEN is most effective when used on clear water. If the water has sediment in it you should run it through a pre-filter prior to water purification. (SteriPEN Classic 3 include a SteriPEN Prefilter.) We recommend water be no darker than weak iced tea. You can also run more than one purification cycle.
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2016-03-12

"Ultra is rechargeable via a computer, outlet or portable solar panel." So how do you charge it via an outlet if it doesn't come with a power adapter? thanks

Asked by: TeriNW
Ultra comes with a micro USB charging cable that can be plugged into any standard USB charger, USB port on a computer computer, or USB solar charger.
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2016-03-12

We recently bought a Steripen Ultra. It seemed to work well initially but now we are having problem getting the light to turn on. Some days it works without glitch, but sometimes it takes multiple tries to get it lit up; thoughts?

Asked by: wannadrinkwater
Please contact our support team by emailing support@steripen.com or calling 888-826-6234. They will be able to troubleshoot your Ultra and provide repair or replacement options, if required.
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2016-03-12

What is the wavelength of UV light emitted by the Ultra? Your other products use mercury vapor lamps, which emit at 253.7 nm. Does this product also emit in the UVC range? Are the OLEDs monochromatic? Do you sell a OLED product that takes batteries? 

Asked by: dsoebb
The UV lamp in SteriPEN Ultra is the same as in other SteriPEN models. SteriPEN is the only model that has an OLED indicator panel.
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2016-03-12

What will happen to the unit if I accidentally drop it in the container of water? Or in a body of water when trying to fill my container? Does the unit float? 

Asked by: Pieshi1
SteriPEN Ultra can be damaged if dropped in water. SteriPEN Classic 3 is more watertight and better able to withstand being briefly submerged in water.
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2016-03-12

With all the different styles/versions of Steripen. How do I know which to buy ? how is it charged ? can it be charged in car ? If you are out for 30 days and I can't find a place to recharge...Doomsday situations,extra batteries ?

Asked by: Tommy
We generally recommend you choose a SteriPEN based on the conditions in which you plan to use it most often and which weight and power source will best meet your needs. For example, if you will use your SteriPEN for travel, will have access to a charging source occasionally and aren't concerned about every ounce in your pack, you might choose SteriPEN Ultra. If you are preparing for a doomsday situation, you will want to store a battery-powered SteriPEN with backup batteries. Rechargeable SteriPENs are charged with a micro-USB cable. The USB can be plugged into any USB charger - in a car, electrical outlet, solar charger, or computer, for example.
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2016-03-12

Is the glass tube replaceable as I have broken the glass around the light 

Asked by: Horses 5122
Yes, we can replace the lamp on your SteriPEN. Please contact SteriPEN support by emailing support@steripen.com or calling 888-826-6234. A support technician will provide instructions for returning it for repairs.
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2016-03-12

I bought Steripen Ultra to use with Sigg Classics as suggested here: https://www.steripen.com/helpful-info/water-purification-with-stainless-steel-and-aluminum-water-bottles/, but mouth appears to be too small with/out Bottletopper. Please advise - thanks!

Asked by: Jcancro
We are often asked whether stainless steel and/or aluminum bottles are effective to use with SteriPEN water purifiers. The answer is a resounding “YES!” Stainless steel and aluminum water bottles have a lower impact on the environment than plastic, are sturdy so if you drop it along the trail,  your water bottle likely won’t break. A great choice for the weekend hiker & traveler. The obvious downside compared to hydration bladders and plastic containers is weight. If you decide to purchase an alumninum bottle, make sure it is  lined with plastic or baked-on epoxy. If you’re a coffee drinker and plan on using your stainless steel or aluminum water bottle, make sure it’s insulated to protect your hands from getting burned.
Answered by: Trev
Date published: 2015-12-20

is the ultra rp-v any differant than the ultra?

Asked by: ssfein
Viqua Ultra RP-V is the same devices as SteriPEN Ultra, in a different color and different packaging.
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2016-03-12

I have the steripen ultra but I lost the usb charger for it.  Where can I purchase another one?  Please let me know!

Asked by: Leah
It is a standard micro USB cable so you should be able to find one at most retailers that carry charging cords, however, if you contact SteriPEN support they'll be able to get one to you. Email support@steripen.com or call 888-826-6234. Thanks for choosing SteriPEN!
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2017-01-27

will the steripen ultra work in drinks other than water, such as tea, juices and sparkling waters. thank you

Asked by: chevy150
SteriPEN is designed and certified effective for use in clear water. It shouldn't be used in water with ice cubes, teas or juices. Thanks for asking!
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2016-03-12

What is the life time recharges on the batteries? How many times can the batteries be recharged before they no longer hold a charge ? Will the unit stop working before the lamp time of 8000 treatments due to the batteries?  

Asked by: bobfnbw
The rechargeable battery is built to last. It should outlast the 8,000 treatment lamp. If for some reason it doesn't, just contact SteriPEN support and we'll replace the battery!
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2016-03-12

Hi, I am wondering if this comes with rechargeable batteries? I am traveling to India for a few months and won't have access to any batteries. Thank you. 

Asked by: Erin
SteriPEN Ultra is rechargeable. It doesn't require batteries.
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2016-03-12

I am buying this for someone and know nothing about these items.  It seems that the two most expensive models are recharged via a computer or solar panel.  What if someone has no access to these things?  Do you sell a solar charger that works with them?

Asked by: Carole
We don't well a solar charger but they can be used with many solar chargers on the market that charge a micro USB channel. Battery powered SteriPENs are also a good choice if you won't have access to a power source for recharging.
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2016-03-12

After 8,000 uses the manual says a sad face will display and a crossed-out bulb. Will the bulb and device continue to treat the water until the bulb physically dies out or is the 8,000 mark a software lockout to prevent further usage?

Asked by: Scream Cheese
Over time, the UV lamp can become less effective. We limit the number of uses for the UV lamp to ensure it won't become less effective. With the SteriPEN Premium Lamp Life Pledge, we'll replace your SteriPEN with a brand new SteriPEN if you use all 8,000 uses! Learn about the pledge: www.steripen.com/pledge
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2016-03-12

Hi Is it possible to use the steripen in plastic bladders, rather than a bottle. So we can purify water while running. Lynn

Asked by: Lynn
Lynn - SteriPEN can be used in a bladder as long as the size of the bladder is one liter or less. The light from the SteriPEN lamp needs to be able to reach all areas of the bladder. Please feel free to call our support line if you would like to discuss the size and brand of the bladder you are using. In the US call: -888-826-6234, Outside the US: +1 (207) 374-4506
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2016-03-12

When will you have the Steripen Ultras back in stock?

Asked by: questioner
SteriPEN Ultra was temporarily out of stock but is now available.
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2016-03-12

How do you know when the unit expires? Steripen Ultras Replacements free? Thanks

Asked by: bullelk
SteriPEN Ultra can be activated 8,000 times. The OLED displays a warning when you have 100 activations left. With our SteriPEN Lamp Life Pledge, if you register your SteriPEN online and contact us when you receive the warning, we'll provide a free replacement SteriPEN.
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2016-03-12

I'd steripen a public traded company?  If so,how can I get details on investment opportunities?  Very excited about where this product could be in the next 5 years 

Asked by: mikes22104
SteriPEN isn't a public traded company, but you're right, there are exciting things to come!
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2016-03-12
  • y_2017, m_3, d_26, h_14CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_60
  • loc_en_US, sid_ultra, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_steripen
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 2.3.0.1
  • CLOUD, method:getContent, 63.24ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

I need a replacement charger and battery for my steripen

Asked by: DebS
Our technical support team can be reached at (888) 826-6234 in the US, or +1 (207) 374-4506, Monday through Friday from 8:00am to 5:00pm (Eastern) or by email support@steripen.com We are happy to help make things right for you with a few more details regarding what model SteriPEN you have and what may be going on with your charger and battery. We look forward to hearing from you. ~ David
Answered by: David in Tech Support
Date published: 2016-07-07

We were given a Steripen ultra with the recharge cord. I understand it also has a battery. We don't have the instruction book. Do we have to unscrew the top to access the battery?

Asked by: Lara
Here is a link to our web page where you can access a User Guide for any of our models: ww.steripen.com/user-guides/ . The inboard, permanent battery is not intended for owner service and is only meant to be recharged with the USB cord via an AC wall adapter, a computer or a solar panel. The custom designed and built battery is not available commercially and is engineered to last well past the 8,000 treatment expectancy of the pen's UV lamp. Although it can be accessed by unscrewing the top, this is not recommended and, in normal use, will not be necessary. Our technicians on staff in our Maine based workshop can do this when need arises, which only happens very infrequently. ~ David
Answered by: David in Tech Support
Date published: 2017-03-18

i want some videos of how does uv water purifier works

Asked by: sakshi
For videos that demonstrate the operation of our current models, please head to our website's video page: https://www.steripen.com/videos/ If you'd like more information regarding how Ultra Violet works, you can check out quite a few technical reports at this link: https://www.steripen.com/micro-biological-testing/ There are also many videos available on the internet with a simple search engine inquiry. One very simple animation on UV Light's Effect on Bacteria can be found at this link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jbQlcmEW_gs ~ David
Answered by: David in Tech Support
Date published: 2016-03-14

How many uses before it needs recharging?

Asked by: Barney
Hello, and thank you for your question! A new SteriPEN Ultra will last approximately 50 uses per charge. -SteriPEN Marketing
Answered by: SteriPEN Marketing
Date published: 2016-04-26

Can your product be shipped to Canada, your shopping cart doesn't support it? Cheers Dan

Asked by: Vaxi
Hi Dan, Although our own web store does not support purchases going to Canada, there are many fine, authorized dealers up that way, including MEC and Bass Pro Shops. For a more complete list, and specific locations, please check our web page: https://www.steripen.com/locator/ . Cheers to you too, Dan. ~ David
Answered by: David in Tech Support
Date published: 2016-03-12

I use a SteriPen in Guatemala and enjoy it. How effective is this against salmonella? We use a very good in-line filter system and then the SteriPen but have been told recently that the city water has become contaminated. Thank you.

Asked by: Eldon
Salmonella is a bacteria and, along with other potential contaminants, will be rendered incapable of causing waterborne illness. The SteriPEN's UV light destroys over 99.9% of bacteria, viruses, and protozoa like Giardia and Cryptosporidium. SteriPEN is certified effective by the Water Quality Association and has won multiple industry awards. You can see what else SteriPEN UV water purifiers destroy at https://www.steripen.com/glossary/ ~ David
Answered by: David in Tech Support
Date published: 2016-03-12

Can I buy a steripen from you in Australia?  I can't see a buy button on the website.  If not how about when I get to Argentina in two weeks?  Also how long would shipping take?  Thanks!

Asked by: Tomtom
You may absolutely buy a SteriPEN in Australia! If there isn't a purchase link on the specific page there should be a retailer link that says where the model is available. If the product isn't available on our page it may be currently discontinued. Please contact us at marketing@steripen.com, and we can give you more direction. Or visit http://www.Steripen.com/locator for a list of retailers. Thank you, ~SteriPEN Marketing
Answered by: SteriPEN Marketing
Date published: 2016-03-12

What is the mAh rating for the Ultra battery?  I read somewhere on the site that you recommend at least a 4000 mAh battery for a full recharge.  Does that take into account the inefficiency of backup battery recharge? 

Asked by: Len5742
The Ultra's battery is rated at 2200 mAh, and you are correct, the recommendation to have a higher rated source, such as a solar charger's internal battery with a minimum 4,000 mAh internal battery, is due to the inherent inefficiency of that method of recharging. ~ David David Snyder Tech Support With each purchase SteriPEN contributes to water4, empowering local entrepreneurs to bring clean water to their own communities. http://www.water4.org/what-we-do/ Monday - Friday, 8am - 5pm EDT 1-888-826-6234 (US Only) +1 (207) 374-4506
Answered by: David in Tech Support
Date published: 2016-03-12

Can I get replacement cap for the water bottle? (it has a loop handle, blue and black) The original had a rubber ring that has a notch/tear in it and allowed water to leak.

Asked by: ltnew
Hello, and thank you for choosing SteriPEN! We recommend you contact our customer support team at: Technical Support Monday - Friday, 8am - 5pm EDT 1-888-826-6234 (US Only) +1 (207) 374-4506 They will be able to get you a new cap! Thank you, ~SteriPEN Marketing
Answered by: SteriPEN Marketing
Date published: 2016-03-12

can i use my iphone 6 wall plug in to charge the Ultra? Also, is it possible to take the rechargeable battery out and put a lithium one in? Thanks

Asked by: lawson406
Yes, you may use any standard USB to Micro-B port cable. http://support.steripen.com/entries/63606567-USB-Charger Thank you for your interest in SteriPEN!
Answered by: SteriPEN Marketing
Date published: 2016-03-12

Hi! I own the steripen Ultra and over the last couple years have only used it a handful of times.  It hasn't been charged for a couple years.  I tried to do it recently and get a screen display while it's plugged in but nothing whenI unplug it.battery??

Asked by: Nick
Nick - We do recommend charging a stored SteriPEN Ultra every six months. Please contact our support department by emailing support@steripen.com or calling 888-826-6234. A representative will be able to troubleshoot your SteriPEN and provide repair options if required.
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2016-03-12

I'm planning on using the SteriPen Ultra to purify water out of the Colorado River. Is it effective on the brown water that comes out of the river?

Asked by: Jay R
SteriPEN is most effective when used on clear water. If the water has sediment in it you should run it through a pre-filter prior to water purification. (SteriPEN Classic 3 include a SteriPEN Prefilter.) We recommend water be no darker than weak iced tea. You can also run more than one purification cycle.
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2016-03-12

"Ultra is rechargeable via a computer, outlet or portable solar panel." So how do you charge it via an outlet if it doesn't come with a power adapter? thanks

Asked by: TeriNW
Ultra comes with a micro USB charging cable that can be plugged into any standard USB charger, USB port on a computer computer, or USB solar charger.
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2016-03-12

We recently bought a Steripen Ultra. It seemed to work well initially but now we are having problem getting the light to turn on. Some days it works without glitch, but sometimes it takes multiple tries to get it lit up; thoughts?

Asked by: wannadrinkwater
Please contact our support team by emailing support@steripen.com or calling 888-826-6234. They will be able to troubleshoot your Ultra and provide repair or replacement options, if required.
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2016-03-12

What is the wavelength of UV light emitted by the Ultra? Your other products use mercury vapor lamps, which emit at 253.7 nm. Does this product also emit in the UVC range? Are the OLEDs monochromatic? Do you sell a OLED product that takes batteries? 

Asked by: dsoebb
The UV lamp in SteriPEN Ultra is the same as in other SteriPEN models. SteriPEN is the only model that has an OLED indicator panel.
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2016-03-12

What will happen to the unit if I accidentally drop it in the container of water? Or in a body of water when trying to fill my container? Does the unit float? 

Asked by: Pieshi1
SteriPEN Ultra can be damaged if dropped in water. SteriPEN Classic 3 is more watertight and better able to withstand being briefly submerged in water.
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2016-03-12

With all the different styles/versions of Steripen. How do I know which to buy ? how is it charged ? can it be charged in car ? If you are out for 30 days and I can't find a place to recharge...Doomsday situations,extra batteries ?

Asked by: Tommy
We generally recommend you choose a SteriPEN based on the conditions in which you plan to use it most often and which weight and power source will best meet your needs. For example, if you will use your SteriPEN for travel, will have access to a charging source occasionally and aren't concerned about every ounce in your pack, you might choose SteriPEN Ultra. If you are preparing for a doomsday situation, you will want to store a battery-powered SteriPEN with backup batteries. Rechargeable SteriPENs are charged with a micro-USB cable. The USB can be plugged into any USB charger - in a car, electrical outlet, solar charger, or computer, for example.
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2016-03-12

Is the glass tube replaceable as I have broken the glass around the light 

Asked by: Horses 5122
Yes, we can replace the lamp on your SteriPEN. Please contact SteriPEN support by emailing support@steripen.com or calling 888-826-6234. A support technician will provide instructions for returning it for repairs.
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2016-03-12

I bought Steripen Ultra to use with Sigg Classics as suggested here: https://www.steripen.com/helpful-info/water-purification-with-stainless-steel-and-aluminum-water-bottles/, but mouth appears to be too small with/out Bottletopper. Please advise - thanks!

Asked by: Jcancro
We are often asked whether stainless steel and/or aluminum bottles are effective to use with SteriPEN water purifiers. The answer is a resounding “YES!” Stainless steel and aluminum water bottles have a lower impact on the environment than plastic, are sturdy so if you drop it along the trail,  your water bottle likely won’t break. A great choice for the weekend hiker & traveler. The obvious downside compared to hydration bladders and plastic containers is weight. If you decide to purchase an alumninum bottle, make sure it is  lined with plastic or baked-on epoxy. If you’re a coffee drinker and plan on using your stainless steel or aluminum water bottle, make sure it’s insulated to protect your hands from getting burned.
Answered by: Trev
Date published: 2015-12-20

is the ultra rp-v any differant than the ultra?

Asked by: ssfein
Viqua Ultra RP-V is the same devices as SteriPEN Ultra, in a different color and different packaging.
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2016-03-12

I have the steripen ultra but I lost the usb charger for it.  Where can I purchase another one?  Please let me know!

Asked by: Leah
It is a standard micro USB cable so you should be able to find one at most retailers that carry charging cords, however, if you contact SteriPEN support they'll be able to get one to you. Email support@steripen.com or call 888-826-6234. Thanks for choosing SteriPEN!
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2017-01-27

will the steripen ultra work in drinks other than water, such as tea, juices and sparkling waters. thank you

Asked by: chevy150
SteriPEN is designed and certified effective for use in clear water. It shouldn't be used in water with ice cubes, teas or juices. Thanks for asking!
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2016-03-12

What is the life time recharges on the batteries? How many times can the batteries be recharged before they no longer hold a charge ? Will the unit stop working before the lamp time of 8000 treatments due to the batteries?  

Asked by: bobfnbw
The rechargeable battery is built to last. It should outlast the 8,000 treatment lamp. If for some reason it doesn't, just contact SteriPEN support and we'll replace the battery!
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2016-03-12

Hi, I am wondering if this comes with rechargeable batteries? I am traveling to India for a few months and won't have access to any batteries. Thank you. 

Asked by: Erin
SteriPEN Ultra is rechargeable. It doesn't require batteries.
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2016-03-12

I am buying this for someone and know nothing about these items.  It seems that the two most expensive models are recharged via a computer or solar panel.  What if someone has no access to these things?  Do you sell a solar charger that works with them?

Asked by: Carole
We don't well a solar charger but they can be used with many solar chargers on the market that charge a micro USB channel. Battery powered SteriPENs are also a good choice if you won't have access to a power source for recharging.
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2016-03-12

After 8,000 uses the manual says a sad face will display and a crossed-out bulb. Will the bulb and device continue to treat the water until the bulb physically dies out or is the 8,000 mark a software lockout to prevent further usage?

Asked by: Scream Cheese
Over time, the UV lamp can become less effective. We limit the number of uses for the UV lamp to ensure it won't become less effective. With the SteriPEN Premium Lamp Life Pledge, we'll replace your SteriPEN with a brand new SteriPEN if you use all 8,000 uses! Learn about the pledge: www.steripen.com/pledge
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2016-03-12

Hi Is it possible to use the steripen in plastic bladders, rather than a bottle. So we can purify water while running. Lynn

Asked by: Lynn
Lynn - SteriPEN can be used in a bladder as long as the size of the bladder is one liter or less. The light from the SteriPEN lamp needs to be able to reach all areas of the bladder. Please feel free to call our support line if you would like to discuss the size and brand of the bladder you are using. In the US call: -888-826-6234, Outside the US: +1 (207) 374-4506
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2016-03-12

When will you have the Steripen Ultras back in stock?

Asked by: questioner
SteriPEN Ultra was temporarily out of stock but is now available.
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2016-03-12

How do you know when the unit expires? Steripen Ultras Replacements free? Thanks

Asked by: bullelk
SteriPEN Ultra can be activated 8,000 times. The OLED displays a warning when you have 100 activations left. With our SteriPEN Lamp Life Pledge, if you register your SteriPEN online and contact us when you receive the warning, we'll provide a free replacement SteriPEN.
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2016-03-12

I'd steripen a public traded company?  If so,how can I get details on investment opportunities?  Very excited about where this product could be in the next 5 years 

Asked by: mikes22104
SteriPEN isn't a public traded company, but you're right, there are exciting things to come!
Answered by: SteriPEN Answers Team
Date published: 2016-03-12
  • y_2017, m_3, d_26, h_14CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_60
  • loc_en_US, sid_ultra, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_steripen
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 2.3.0.1
  • CLOUD, method:getContent, 60.74ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT